Sixteenth Thing: As time goes by

It’s been a long time.

Yes M’am, A lot of water under the bridge

I don’t know quite how over a month has gone by since my last post. It’s not that I have been idle. I have been undertaking a lot of home improvements: learning to hang wallpaper; glossing dado rails; painting the ceiling (indeed inventing a new shade of blue-grey for it: I’ve named it ‘Gateshead Grime’; building flatpack furniture. However, my creative blue projects have rather been on the back burner, so it’s time to get on back on track.

Time is a funny thing. Today, I found an old notebook full of (phoentically written and no doubt highly inaccurate) lyrics to my favourite Japanese pop songs, which I wrote out in summer 1999 so I could sing along. It really seems like yesterday, but it’s almost 14 years ago. Where, oh where does time go?

I recently read on Facebook “if you think a minute goes by really fast, you’ve never been on a treadmill.” Sometimes, time goes by so slowly, even when you’ve got the perfect BPM for running track on your ipod.

And yet a minute extra in bed in the morning passes in an instant. Indeed anything I try and do between getting up and leaving the house seems to eat up time. I’m always racing against the clock.

It’s important, therefore, to have a clock in every room, not least the bathroom, where the joy of a hot, powerful shower on a cold morning can distract you from appropriate hurrying. So for my sixteenth task, I decided to make a wall clock for the bathroom.

You’ll see quite how much time has passed since I started this project (given that the metal tray that I up-cycled for the clock face has a Christmas design), but in my defence, it took a while to get hold of the clock parts – which were out of stock for weeks.

It was important for me that the clock had a second hand. Partly because when I see it move, it reminds me that time is indeed constantly passing. Partly because I like to hear a tick. Partly because I remember wondering when I was young why it was called the second hand, when in fact, it was the third hand (the penny did eventually drop). And partly because of a project I once worked on with artist Andreas Slominski, which involved commissioning a clock designer to produce a (to scale) design for a second hand for the clock of the tower formerly known as St Stephen, now called Elizabeth Tower (a.k.a. Big Ben). All of this has made me very fond of second hands.

I may do further decoration on the face of my clock. It’s rather minimal at present. But for now it’s on the wall in the bathroom and I can see the second hand out of the corner of my eye while I’m washing my hair, so I can keep on track and feel like I have all the time in the world.

Tools / special requirements: Clock parts and hands, tray, paint

Time taken: Probably about 2 hours of actual painting / assembling.

Things learned: Time Goes By by Every Little Thing, was used as the theme song for the Japanese drama Amai Kekkon and was their best selling single (1,150,000 copies sold).

Satisfaction (1-10): 5. Working out the centre of the circle and indeed making the hole was a bit of a faff: which may be why I lost interest in decorating it. Have enjoyed listening to all the time-related songs in this post.

20130317-235651.jpg

20130317-235722.jpg

20130317-235817.jpg

20130317-235848.jpg

20130317-235904.jpg

20130317-235924.jpg

20130318-000037.jpg

Leave a Reply

