Fifteenth Thing: Step On

As a child, I found it hard to understand that my first experience of music, or a particular performer, wasn’t necessary where things started. For example, for me, David Bowie began when Let’s Dance hit number one in 1983. Here was an exciting new addional to my musical world (and a vindication of my red ballet shoes that I was so teased about), but of course, Bowie had been going for years (and still goes on now)

And again, when Chain Reaction was big in 1985 (the first song for which I learned all the lyrics by heart: without quite knowing what ‘all the after midnight action’ actually meant) I didn’t realise that Diana Ross was no newbie, it was simply the veteran singer’s first chart topper in the UK since 1971. Oh those sparkly shoulder pads…

So when I first heard the Happy Mondays‘ 1990 version of Step On, in those days before Wikipedia, I had no idea of the history of the song. It was a 1971 hit (titled ‘He’s gonna step on your again‘) for South African singer-songwriter John Kongos, and is cited in the Guinness Book of Records as being the first song to ever use a sample.

All this reminiscing about my youth also reminds me of a time when I was still hopinh to be tall (which I defined as ‘taller than my older sister’) . However, I stopped growing just short of her, and while my final height is pretty average, there are still occasions, especially in a high-ceiled home when there are windows to be closed and lightbulbs to be changed (no jokes) when one needs something to step on.

My photos don’t do justice to how long this took to sand, prime, sand, paint, sand, paint, paint again, touch up and varnish, varnish, varnish; nor how well the two tones of blue work; nor how satisfyingly sparkly the treads are.

Tools / special requirements: Paint, primer, paintbrush, mini roller, white spirit, sandpaper, masking tape.

Time taken: Too long. Should have done a better job of keeping track of this. I would estimate 5 hours total.

Things not learned: What ‘Twistin’ my Melon Man’ actually means.

Satisfaction (1-10): 6. The paint seemed to accentuate the unevenness of the wood surface.

20130205-153755.jpg

20130205-153815.jpg

20130205-153848.jpg

20130205-153857.jpg

Leave a Reply

