Second Thing: Goody two shoes

Don’t drink, don’t smoke, what do you do?

Ah, Adam Ant. One of my earliest memories of Top of the Pops is him performing this song (I say performing, I mean miming). He was my sister’s favourite pop star. What I didn’t know back then was that the mainstream use of the expression ‘Goody Two Shoes’ stems from an 18th century children’s book in which a poor orphan girl with only one shoe earns a second one through her virtuousness.

Fortunately, the closest I’ve come to a one shoe sob story was after one of my flip flops was washed out to sea on Hastings beach, (only to be returned by the tide several hours later, a few metres along the shore).

I had some traumatic childhood shoe experiences on account of my enormous feet. No patent leather Mary Janes for me. Ugly grey lace-up boys shoes were the only ones that fit. Oh how I was mocked. And then there was the seemingly endless search for pixie boots (possibly Adam Ant inspired). This may be why I still don’t enjoy shoe shopping, although the era of my navy DMs did offer some respite, especially when I customised them by painting gold stars on them. I swore I’d wear them at my wedding.

These days my shoe embellishments are rather more conservative, but with some ribbon from some beautifully wrapped birthday presents, I fashioned some new laces for my rather sensible new mock brogues. I think even Stuart Leslie Goddard might consider them rather fetching.

Tools / special requirements: sharp scissors to cut ribbon ends into a point to get it through the teeny lace holes.

Time taken: 5 minutes

Things learned: Brogues originated in Scotland and were designed to allow water to drain through the holes after walking in wet terrain. Very appropriate today.

Satisfaction (1-10): 5 – a bit easy but end result makes me smile.

Pictures:
20121204-223457.jpg

shoe

20121204-223515.jpg

20121204-223525.jpg

Leave a Reply

